About me


Ph.D., School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dissertation Committee: Dhavan Shah (chair), Doug McLeod, Hernando Rojas, Katherine Cramer, Jee-Seon Kim

M.A., School of Journalism, The University of Texas at Austin

B.A., Journalism, Scranton Honors Program, Ewha Womans University

Research Experience

Knight Scholar of Communications and Civic Renewal,

Center for Communications and Civic Renewal, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Student Researcher/Board Member,

Computational Methods Research Group, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Student Leader,

Social Media and Democracy Group, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Honors and Awards

Helen Firstbrook Franklin Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship (WDGF), 2020-2021

1st Place in Main Competition (Political Communication Division), AEJMC, 2020

School of Journalism and Mass Communication Research Award, UW-Madison, 2019

Computational Methods Interest Group Travel Grant, ICA, 2019

Graduate School Conference Travel Award, UW-Madison, 2019

Top Research paper, Crossroads Communication, UW-Madison, 2019

School of Journalism and Mass Communication Conference Travel Grant, UW-Madison, 2017-2019

1st Place in Main Competition (Political Communication Division), AEJMC, 2018

3rd Place Research Prize for Professional Relevance, AEJMC, 2018

Full scholarship for the Computational Social Science Summer School on Methods, 2018

1st Place in Student Competition (Mass Communication and Society Division), AEJMC, 2017

Korean American Communication Association (KACA) Travel Grant, AEJMC, 2017

Ada Frances Miller Fellowship, UT-Austin, 2015

Teaching Certificate in First-Year Interdisciplinary Instruction, UT-Austin, 2015

School of Journalism Graduate Student Scholarship, UT-Austin, 2015

©2022 by Jiyoun Suk